Two state appellate judges, two Circuit Court judges and a law school professor have been nominated to fill an upcoming vacancy on the Hawaii Supreme Court.

The Hawaii Judicial Selection Commission announced today it nominated the five candidates to fill a vacancy on the high court when Associate Justice James Duffy reaches the mandatory retirement age of 70 years of age.

Gov. Neil Abercrombie has 30 days to choose Duffy’s successor.

The nominees are: Craig Nakamura, Chief Judge of the state Intermediate Court of Appeals; Daniel R. Foley, Associate Justice of the ICA; Circuit Judges Derrick Chan and Richard Pollack; and David M. Forman, faculty member at the Univefsity of Hawaii’s William Richardson School of Law.

The commission also released a list of nominees sent to Abercrombie for appointment to the Circuit Court on Maui.

Those nominees are: Peter T. Cahill, Michelle L. Drewyer, Kelsey T. Kawano, Lloyd A. Poelman and Douglas J. Sameshima.

The commission’s news release is here.