Allegiance to America is Under Attack by Akaka Bill and Its Supporters-Open Letter to U.S. Congress

article top

”’This was submitted by the Citizens Equal Rights Alliance, a Native American Indian group, to all members of the United States Congress in opposition to the Akaka Bill.”’

The Pledge of Allegiance which is a federal statute at U.S. Code, Title 36, Chapter 10, Section 172, is part of what is under attack with Senate Bill 147 and H.R. 309 otherwise known as the Akaka Bill:


”'”I pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America…””’

Nine senators and eight congressmen of the United States, unmindful of their own respective pledges of allegiance to the country in which they hold elected office, contrary to their own sworn Oath of Office, and in clear violation of the U.S. Constitution, support legislation to separate and segregate one specific ethnic population in contradiction to the pledge of allegiance by forming a separate, race-based government requiring a redirected allegiance to a separate government.

”'”And to the republic for which it stands…””’

At least 17 members of Congress would enact S. 147 and H.R. 309, repudiating the requirement of a Republican form of government for the 400,000 Native Hawaiian U.S. citizens. These congressmen, by their intent to pass this legislation clearly state that our “republic for which it stands,” stands for nothing. Or worse, laws can be enacted on behalf of the highest bidders based on their political contributors.

”'”One nation, Under God, Indivisible….””’

Senators Akaka, Cantwell, Coleman, Dorgan, Graham, Inouye, Murkowski, Gordon Smith, and Stevens, and Congressmen Abercrombie, Bordallo, Case, Falomeomavaega, Grijalva, Moran, Rahall and Don Young