American Marketing Association Hawaii Seeking State’s 34th Marketer of the Year

article top

Honolulu — The Hawaii chapter of the American Marketing Association (AMA Hawaii) has issued a call for entries for the 2010 Hawaii Marketer of the Year Awards, honoring businesses, organizations and individuals for outstanding marketing achievements within the 2010 calendar year.

In addition to the overall Hawaii Marketer of the Year category, categories include Non-Profit Marketing, E-Marketing, and Marketing of a New Product or Service.


Entries will be judged according to five criteria: insight, objectives, strategy, tactics and results. The competition is open to all Hawaii-based businesses, organizations or professionals. It is not limited to AMA members. In order to qualify, the major portion of an entry’s project work must have been implemented between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2010.

The deadline to enter is Dec. 10, 2010. Entry forms are available at

The 2010 Hawaii Marketer of the Year Awards Luncheon will be held on April 19, 2011, from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., at the Hawaii Convention Center.

The chapter has honored 33 Hawaii Marketers of the Year. Last year, Gov. Linda Lingle and then-Mayor Mufi Hannemann joined AMA Hawaii at its annual awards luncheon to salute Marriott Resorts Hawaii as the 2009 Hawaii Marketer of the Year. Also recognized at the event were The Outrigger Duke Kahanamoku Foundation for Best Non-Profit Marketing, Bank of Hawaii for Best E-Marketing, and Aloha Air Cargo for Best Marketing of a New Product or Service.

Established in 1970, the Hawaii chapter of the American Marketing Association is part of the largest marketing association in the United States, consisting of nearly 40,000 leading marketing academics, researchers and practitioners from every industry. For more information, visit It is also the source that marketers turn to every day for information/resources, education/training and professional networking.

Submitted by Keith Demellow