One in Five ‘Best Doctors’ are on Faculty at UH Manoa’s Medical School

John Burns School of Medicine
article top
BY TINA SHELTON – One in five of the physicians featured in the June 2010 “Best Doctors in Hawai‘i” issue of Honolulu Magazine is a member of the faculty of the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa’s John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM).
Faculty at the school of medicine include doctors who treat patients at the school’s academic training hospital partners, including Kapi‘olani Medical Center, Pali Momi Medical Center, Straub Hospital, Kaiser Moanalua Medical Center, Kuakini Medical Center, The Queen’s Medical Center, Tripler Medical Center, The Veteran’s Administration, Hilo Medical Center, Kaua‘i’s Wilcox Hospital, and Maui Memorial Hospital.
In addition, research by the medical school has established that half of the practicing physicians in Hawai‘i are graduates of either JABSOM or the medical school’s Hawai‘i Residency Programs, which trains physicians in 16 different specialties.
Honolulu Magazine issues a “Best Doctors in Hawai‘i” issue every two years. Its list is researched by Best Doctors in America, which surveys physicians nationwide asking who they would refer patients to in different specialties.
The list of physician-faculty chosen, divided by specialties identified by Honolulu Magazine, is below.
The 2010 Hawai‘i Health Workforce Assessment by JABSOM found the state has about 2,900 practicing physicians. Honolulu Magazine honored a total of 325 physicians on June 10 in an event at the Kahala Hotel and Resort.
Honolulu Magazine’s “Best Doctors in Hawai‘i”
Faculty Members (Clinical Faculty and Full-time Faculty) at the John A. Burns School of Medicine, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa.
Allergy and Immunology

Dr. Franklin Yamamoto
Dr. Alan Britten
Cardiovascular Disease
Dr. Edward Shen
Critical-Care Medicine
Dr. Malcolm Haruno
Dr. Warren Tamamoto
Dr. Mihae Yu
Dr. Allan Izumi
Emergency Medicine
Dr. Jerris Hedges (Dean of Medicine)
Endocrinology and Metabolism
Dr. John Melish
Family Medicine
Dr. Kay Bauman
Dr. Andrew Nichols
Dr. Scott Kuwada
Geriatric Medicine
Dr. Anna Loengard
Dr. Marianne Tanabe
Hand Surgery and Orthopedic Surgery
Dr. Robert Atkinson
Orthopedic Surgery
Dr. Jay Masaji Marumoto
Dr. Sydney Smith
Infectious Disease
Dr. Erlaine Bellow
Dr. Lawrence Eron
Internal Medicine
Dr. S. Kalani Brady
Dr. Daniel Fischberg
Dr. Cyril Goshima
Dr. Michael Nagoshi
Dr. Glenn Rediger
Medical Genetics
Dr. Laurie Seaver
Oncology and Hematology
Dr. Kenneth Sumida
Dr. Roland Ng
Dr. James Pearce
Dr. Michael Watters
Obstetrics and Gynecology
Dr. Shawna Brizzolara
Dr. Bruce Kessel
Dr. Thomas Kosasa
Dr. Jorge Camara
Dr. Peter K. Bryant-Greenwood
Pediatric Cardiac Surgery
Dr. Carolos E Moreno-Cabral
Dr. Rupert Chang
Pediatric Emergency Medicine
Dr. Loren Gene Yamamoto
Pediatric Infectious Disease
Dr. Marian Melish
Pediatric Ophthalmology
Dr. Malcolm R. Ing
Pediatric Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Dr. Barry Carlton
Dr. Anthony Guerrero
Pediatric Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Dr. Venkataraman Balaraman
Dr. Daniel Murai
Dr. Kenneth Nakamura
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Dr. Cedric Akau
Plastic Surgery
Dr. F. Don Parsa
Dr. Iqbal Ahmed
Dr. Steven Williams
Pulmonary Medicine
Dr. Bruce Soll
Radiation Oncology
Dr. Vincent Brown
Dr. John Lederer
Dr. Mary Ann Antonelli
Dr. Werner Grebe
Dr. Peter Halford
Dr. Whitney Limm
Dr. Junji Machi
Dr. Mark Mugiishi
Surgical Oncology
Dr. Peter Halford
Dr. Paul Morris
Dr. Danny Takanishi, Jr.
Thoracic Surgery
Dr. Paul Morris
Vascular Surgery
Dr. Harvey S. Takaki

Tina Shelton is a spokesperson for the medical school