Donna Mercado Kim Selected as Senate President

article top
Senate Vice President Donna Mercado Kim

REPORT FROM THE STATE SENATE – Senate Vice President Donna Mercado Kim (Sen. District 14) has been selected as the President of the Senate and will preside during the 27thHawaii State Legislature, which will convene on January 16, 2013.  Senator Ronald D. Kouchi (Sen. District 8) will serve as Senate Vice President.  Senator David Ige (Sen. District 16) will continue as Chair of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means, with Senator Michelle Kidani (Sen. District 18) serving as his Vice Chair.

The Senate acted quickly to organize after Maui State Senator Shan Tsutsui (Sen. District 5) took the oath of office as Lieutenant Governor yesterday.    The Senate line up remains mostly intact to allow members continuity in their committee work as the Senate has been preparing for the upcoming session.


“We are solidified in dealing with the pressing issues facing our State.  The Senate continues to be organized in a cooperative and focused manner.  I’m humbled to receive the confidence and support of my colleagues” said Senate President Kim.

“We reached an agreement quickly so that we can continue to focus our attention on the issues and begin preparations for the 2013 session,” said Senate Vice President Kouchi.

A complete listing of Senate Leadership and Committee Chairmanships is as follows:

President Donna Mercado Kim
Vice President Ronald D. Kouchi
Majority Leader Brickwood Galuteria
Assistant Majority Leader Michelle Kidani
Ways and Means, Chair David Ige
Ways and Means, Vice Chair Michelle Kidani

Majority Floor Leader Will Espero
Majority Policy Leader Les Ihara, Jr.
Majority Whip Gil Kahele
Majority Whip Jill Tokuda
Judiciary and Labor, Chair Clayton Hee
Commerce and Consumer Protection, Chair Roz Baker
Agriculture, Chair Clarence Nishihara
Technology and The Arts, Chair Glenn Wakai
Economic Development, Government Operations, and Housing, Chair


Housing, Chair

Donovan Dela Cruz
Energy and Environment, Chair Mike Gabbard
Education, Chair Jill Tokuda
Tourism and Hawaiian Affairs, Chair Brickwood Galuteria
Health, Chair Josh Green, M.D.
Higher Education, Chair Brian Taniguchi
Human Services, Chair Suzanne Chun Oakland
Public Safety and Military Affairs, Chair Will Espero
Transportation & International Affairs, Chair J. Kalani English
Water and Land, Chair Malama Solomon






Comments are closed.