Governor Announces UH Board of Regents Nominations

article top
Gov. Neil Abercrombie

REPORT FROM THE GOVERNOR’S OFFICE –  Gov. Neil Abercrombie today announced the nominations of Eugene Bal III, Barry T. Mizuno, and Randolph A. Moore to the University of Hawaii Board of Regents. The nominations are subject to state Senate confirmation.

Bal and Mizuno’s terms for the Maui and Hawaii County seats, respectively, are effective July 1, 2013. Moore begins his term immediately upon confirmation by a full Senate vote. He will complete the term of At-Large Regent Michael Dahilig, who resigned before his term ends on July 1, 2013. Moore will then begin a new term on July 1, 2013.  


“These nominees have exceptionally strong leadership qualities and the experience and expertise to guide the University of Hawaii System to its full potential,” Gov. Abercrombie said. “As a UH alumnus, I understand the critical role the university plays in our state economy and the opportunity it provides for students and researchers. These appointees are fully committed to resolving the governance challenges currently at issue. They know the UH System needs and deserves our support.” 

The Governor’s nominees were selected from a list of nominations provided to the Governor by the Regents Candidate Advisory Council.

Maui County Nominee
Eugene Bal III retired as a U.S. Navy captain after 25 years of service, which included a decade of combat flying and time as a chief engineer for the development and acquisition of avionic systems. He has served as the executive director of the Maui High Performance Computing Center for the past 16 years of its 19-year history. Combined with his naval career, he has more than 40 years of experience in leadership roles, managing all aspects of complex scientific, technical and engineering programs. 

A graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, Bal earned a Master of Science degree from the U.S. Naval Postgraduate School. He is also a graduate of the Defense Systems Management College and the Advance Executive Program at the Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University.

Hawaii County Nominee
Barry T. Mizuno has been a leader in the geothermal power business for 20 years. As onsite manager for the Puna Geothermal Venture, he oversaw the project at its infancy from 1992 to 2006. Mizuno retired in 2006 to form BTM LLC, a private energy consulting firm before retiring in 2012.

Mizuno has also served in positions within Hawaii County across two administrations, including finance director and managing director. A certified public accountant, he has resided on the Big Island since 1983 when he became the chief financial officer, treasurer and controller of Hamakua Sugar Company, Inc. He currently serves on the UH Board of Regents as chair of the Planning and Facilities Committee, vice-chair of the Committee on University Audits, and member of the Committees on Community Colleges and Budget and Finance.

Mizuno earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration/accounting from Central Washington University in Ellensburg.

At-Large Nominee
Randolph G. Moore is a retired business executive, middle school teacher and Department of Education administrator. 

After two years as a Peace Corps volunteer in Liberia, Moore returned to Hawaii to begin a 35-year business career. Retiring from Kaneohe Ranch, he went on to teach at Central Middle School in Honolulu and assisted in the implementation of the 2004 Legislature’s “Reinventing Education” act. Before retiring, he served at the state Department of Education as assistant superintendent for the Office of School Facilities and Support Services.

In accordance with the State of Hawaii Constitution, the UH Board of Regents have the power to formulate policy and exercise internal organization and management of the university through its executive officer, the president of the university. Consisting of 15 members, the UH Board of Regents includes at least one member who is a UH student (currently Jeffrey Acido) at the time of his or her initial appointment. At least 12 non-student members represent specific geographic areas in the state, with two from Hawaii County, two from Maui County, one from Kauai County, and seven from the City and County of Honolulu.





Comments are closed.