Hawaii's Most Unwanted -Here are the Scoundrels in the Hawaii State Legislature who Made Hawaii the First State to Impose Gas Caps, Increased What Consumers Pay for Gasoline By Messing with the Free Market, and Made the State the Laughing Stock of the Nation

article top

”’Hawaii’s Gas Cap Law goes into effect Sept. 1, 2005, and will actually increase prices that consumers pay at the pump by an estimated 20 to 30 cents a gallon. Here are the lawmakers who voted for the 2002 law (revised in 2004), which caps the wholesale price of gasoline, and ties the cap to three markets in the U.S. mainland. Note: some legislators voted no for the original bill, but yes for the 2004 amended bill. Sen. Paul Whalen was a member of the state House when he voted yes for the 2002 bill, but is now a member of the state Senate and was excused for the 2004 vote. Other legislators are now in the U.S. Congress, the Honolulu City Council or out of office all together, but are shown here as legislators for purposes of this list.”’

”’To see the status of the Gas Cap bill SB2179 SD2 HD1 CD2 from the Hawaii State Legislature 2002 Legislative Session, go to:”’ https://tinyurl.com/7kjue


”’To see the status of the amended Gas Cap bill SB3193 SD2 HD2 CD1 from the Hawaii State Legislature 2004 Legislative Session, go to:”’ https://tinyurl.com/byrns

“Gov Cayetano Centered”

“Ron Menor Centered”

“Hermina Morita Centered”

“Melodie Aduja Centered”

“Rosalyn Baker Centered”

“Jan Buen Centered”

“Robert Bunda Centered”

“Avery B. Chumbley Centered”

“Suzanne Chun Oakland Centered”

“Jonathan Chun Centered”

“J. Kalani English Centered”

“Willie C. Espero Centered”

“Carol Fukunaga Centered”

“Colleen Hanabusa Centered”

“Gary Hooser Centered”

“David Ige Centered”

“Les Ihara Centered”

“Lorraine Inouye Centered”

“Brian Kanno Centered”

“Cal Kawamoto Centered”

“Donna Mercado Kim Centered”

“Russell Kokubun Centered”

“Matt Matsunaga Centered”

“Bob Nakata Centered”

“Norman Sakamoto Centered”

“Rod Tam Centered”

“Brian Taniguchi Centered”

“Shan Tsutsui Centered”

“Felipe P. Abinsay, Jr Centered”

“Dennis Arakaki Centered”

“Emily Auwae Centered”

“Ben Cabreros Centered”

“Kirk Caldwell Centered”

“Ed Case Centered”

“Jerry Chang Centered”

“Cindy Evans Centered”

“Nestor Garcia Centered”

“Helene Hale Centered”

“Eric Hamakawa Centered”

“Robert Herkes Centered”

“Kenneth Hiraki Centered”

“Ken Ito Centered”

“Michael Kahikina Centered”

“Sol Kahoohalahala Centered”

“Ezra Kanoho Centered”

“Jon Riki Karamatsu Centered”

“Marilyn Lee Centered”

“Bertha Leong Centered”

“Sylvia Luke Centered”

“Michael Magaoay Centered”

“Barbara Marumoto Centered”

“Romy Mindo Centered”

“Scott Nishimoto Centered”

“Blake Oshiro Centered”

“Marcus Oshiro Centered”

“David A. Pendleton Centered”

“Jim Rath Centered”

“Scott Saiki Centered”

“Calvin Say Centered”

“Brian Schatz Centered”

“Maile Shimabukuro Centered”

“Alex Sonson Centered”

“Nathan Suzuki Centered”

“Dwight Takamine Centered”

“Mark Takai Centered”

“Roy Takumi Centered”

“Tulsi Gabbard Tamayo Centered”

“Cynthia Henry Thielen Centered”

“Glenn Wakai Centered”

“Tommy Waters Centered”

“Paul Whalen Centered”

“Noboru Yonamine Centered”

“Terry Nui Yoshinaga Centered”