Honolulu Pride Announces 2014 Grand Marshals

Kathryn Xian is head of GirlFest and the Pacific Alliance to Stop Slavery.
article top
Kathryn Xian (Individual Grand Marshal)
Kathryn Xian (Individual Grand Marshal)

HONOLULU – Honolulu Pride, Hawaii’s oldest and largest Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning, Intersex and Ally (LGBTQIA) advocacy organization, announces the Grand Marshals for the 2014 Honolulu Pride Parade and Celebration. The Honolulu Pride committee selected the following Grand Marshals because they exemplify this year’s theme: Pupukahi I Holomua (United to Move Forward) – Love is Love

Honolulu Pride will be honoring their Grand Marshals at the 24th Annual Honolulu Pride Parade and Celebration:

  • Sheraton Waikiki (Business Grand Marshal)
  • Kaleo Tevaitea Tanoa Ramos (Individual Grand Marshal)
  • Kathryn Xian (Individual Grand Marshal)
  • Bill Woods (In memoriam – Individual Grand Marshal)
  • Aloha Bears (Organization Grand Marshal)

“Our Grand Marshals represent that past, present and future of our struggle for full equality for our LGBTQIA community”, said Michael Golojuch. Jr., Chair of Honolulu Pride; “We have come so far but there is still so much more work to be done and our Grand Marshals know that and work every day to help move the equality needle forward. ”

The Honolulu Pride Parade starts at 10:00 AM on Saturday, June 7, 2014, from Magic Island, passing through Waikiki and ending at Kapiolani Park. The Grand Marshals will speak at the official start of the Honolulu Pride Celebration at approximately 12:00 PM.  The celebration takes place immediately following the parade at the Kapiolani Park Bandstand.