Kirk Caldwell Inaugurated as Mayor of Honolulu

Kirk Caldwell will be sworn in as Honolulu's next mayor on January 2, 2013
article top
Kirk Caldwell was sworn in as Honolulu’s mayor on January 2, 2013

REPORT FROM CITY AND COUNTY — Kirk Caldwell was officially inaugurated today and installed as the 14th mayor of the City and County of Honolulu, and pledged to work hard on behalf of the public.

Caldwell was sworn into office by Hawaii Supreme Court Associate Justice Sabrina McKenna during a ceremony at the Mission Memorial Auditorium before an overflow crowd of well-wishers.


Hawaii Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark Recktenwald also administered the oath of office to five Honolulu City Council members: Ikaika Anderson; Ann Kobayashi; Joey Manahan; Ron Menor; and Kymberly Marcos Pine. Council Chairman Ernie Martin also welcomed Council members Stanley Chang, Carol Fukunaga and Breene Harimoto.

In his inauguration speech, Caldwell said he sought to foster a new era of mutual respect and cooperation with the Council, while acknowledging that some differences of opinion are to be expected.

Caldwell said the main priority at Honolulu Hale should be to work together for the greater good of the community.

He invoked the memory of Queen Emma whose efforts on behalf of the public established Queen’s Hospital in 1859, which is now The Queen’s Medical Center. That early achievement is an example of leaders seeing beyond political disagreements of the day to ensure the long-term health of the community, Caldwell said.

The ceremony’s Oli Aloha was delivered by Kahu Wendell Kalanikapuaenui Silva; the Invocation was delivered by Bishop Eric Matsumoto; the National Anthem and Hawaii Pono i were performed by Misty Kelai; Kumu Hula Mapuana de Silva and Halau Mohala ‘Ilima gave a cultural performance; and Reverend John Heidel gave the closing prayer.