The NFL and HTA Designates Pro Bowl Committee

article top

REPORT FROM HTA  The Hawai‘i Tourism Authority (HTA), the state’s tourism agency, in partnership with the


“We are pleased to welcome the Pro Bowl back to Hawai‘i in 2013 and look forward to working with the Pro Bowl Committee to enhance overall resident and visitor experiences during the week,” said Mike McCartney, president and CEO of the HTA. “This event has been home to Hawai‘i for more than 30 years and is very special to us. The Pro Bowl and events attract visitors and their spending, provides worldwide exposure for our Hawaiian Islands, creates economic opportunities for local businesses, and generates social, recreational and charitable benefits for residents and especially our youth.”

The 2012 Pro Bowl attracted 48,423 attendees (18,873 of which were visitors), contributing $25.3 million in visitor spending and $2.8 million in tax revenues. Pro Bowl Week events generated an additional estimated $4 million in local economic activity, while annual NFL charitable donations exceeded $100,000 in 2012. The Pro Bowl broadcast also reached 12.5 million viewers nationwide.

Committee chair Dr. Miyawaki’s experience with the NFL dates back to the 1970s when he established an NFL training camp for local athletes aspiring to play professional football. In 1994, he became the first Japanese-American to purchase minority ownership of an NFL franchise. For the past two decades, Dr. Miyawaki has played an instrumental role in securing the Pro Bowl in Hawai‘i.

The Hawai‘i Tourism Authority is a state agency established by law in 1998 to ensure a successful visitor industry and tourism economy in the state of Hawai‘i. As the state’s tourism authority, its mission is to strategically manage tourism to optimize benefits for Hawai‘i, integrating the interests of visitors, the community and visitor industry. Through the implementation of the statewide Hawai‘i Tourism Strategic Plan and HTA’s own strategic plan, the authority works to direct Hawai‘i tourism in a sustainable manner consistent with our economic goals, cultural values, preservation of natural resources, community desires and visitor industry needs. For more information on the HTA, please, find us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.


Pro Bowl Committee Members

1.      Vince Baldemor

2.      Bob Barlow

3.      Rick Blagiardi

4.      Scott Chan

5.      Al Chee

6.      Chris Chun

7.      Bruce Coppa

8.      Lee Donahue

9.      Nola Donahue-Lewis

10.    Jim Donovan

11.    Rick Egged

12.    John Fink

13.    Raymond Fujino

14.    Jim Fulton

15.    Jerry Gibson

16.    Kerry Hadaway

17.    Bob Harrison

18.    Percy Higashi

19.    Peter Ho

20.    Paulette Kaleikini

21.    George Kam

22.    Alvin Katahara

23.    Victor Kimura

24.    Chris Kobayashi

25.    Duane Kurisu

26.    Russell Lau

27.    David Matlin

28.    Mike McCartney

29.    Lynn McCrory

30.    Chuck Mills

31.    Edison Miyawaki

32.    Sam Moku

33.    Randy Perreira

34.    Mark Polivka

35.    Carol Pregill

36.    Michael Story

37.    George Szigeti

38.    Tony Takitani

39.    Barry Taniguchi

40.    Chris Tatum

41.    David Uchiyama

42.    Art Ushijima

43.    Bill Villa

44.    Ron Williams

45.    Alan Wong

46.    Roy Yamaguchi

47.    Gary Yoshida

48.    Hugh Yoshida

49.    Sanford Yuen






Comments are closed.