Vote for Top Surfers in the World

article top

SAN CLEMENTE, Calif., Aug. 16, 2010 – The 2010 SURFER Polls were officially opened this week by SURFER Magazine.

Celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2010 with an epic relocation to surfing’s homeland of Hawaii, this year’s historic event will be one for the record books.


Now is the time for surfing fans the world over to proclaim their picks for the top 10 male and top five female surfers in the world by visiting and voting.

After collecting votes from around the world for the next several months, the SURFER Poll awards ceremony, held for the first time at the famed Turtle Bay Resort on Oahu’s North Shore, December 6, 2010, during the Vans Triiple Crown of Surfing, will crown the year’s most popular surfers.

The question this year, as it has been for more than a decade, will be whether 15-time Poll winner Kelly Slater can top the charts for yet another year.  His reign has been challenged in the past by the likes of Andy Irons – who stole the top spot in 2003 and 2004 – Mick Fanning, Joel Parkinson and Taj Burrow. In recent years, an onslaught of young new talent has also been lighting up the polls including big names like Dane Reynolds and Jordy Smith.

On the women’s side, it’s anyone’s game.  Last year’s winner, Stephanie Gilmore, was joined by two-time #1 Sofia Mulanovich in second place, followed by the young up-and-comers Carissa Moore, Coco Ho and Alana Blanchard. No doubt the youth uprising will continue knocking at the door this year.

Once again, marks the spot where fans can visit and help solidify history by voting. Then come Dec. 6th, we can all sit back, relax and watch the LIVE webcast to see which surfers will add their names to the exclusive list of world’s best which includes Kelly Slater, Andy Irons, Stephanie Gilmore, Tom Curren, and Lisa Andersen, just to name a few.

Submitted by Jodi Willmott