2013 Mayor’s Small Business Award Winners

Maui Mayor Alan M. Arakawa
article top
Maui Mayor Alan M. Arakawa

REPORT FROM THE OFFICE OF THE MAYOR – Maui Mayor Alan Arakawa, in conjunction with the Maui Chamber of Commerce, is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 Mayor’s Small Business Awards, which was held February 21 at the King Kamehameha Golf Club Waikapu Ballroom.

“Small business is Maui County’s most important economic engine, and we should never forget the sacrifices that business owners make every day to keep their businesses operating,” said Mayor Arakawa. “They take on risk, work long hours, and put their personal assets on the line while providing jobs, services and goods to our community.  We are fortunate to have such a strong small business community in Maui County and are privileged to honor them.”


This year’s nominees are an exceptional group of small businesses who are all deserving of awards.  The winners in each category are as follows:


Young Small Business Person of the Year

David “Boze” Kapoi (Pride Ink)


Exceptional Small Business (10 or fewer employees)

Paris Nabayi (Cilantro Mexican Grill)


Exceptional Small Business (11-25 employees)

David & Ululani Yamashiro (Ululani’s Hawaiian Shave Ice LLC)


Exceptional Small Business (26-50 employees)

Daniel Boren (Skyline Eco-Adventures, LLC)


Outstanding Non-Profit Business

Habitat for Humanity Maui


Lifetime Achievement Award

The Late Douglas Wayne “Butch” Akina & Sandra Akina (Akina Aloha Tours)


Mahalo to event co-sponsors Bank of Hawaii, First Hawaiian Bank, Central Pacific Bank and Muneyiko & Hiraga, INC., as well as to event supporters SCORE and VIP Food Service.

Many thanks to the Maui Chamber of Commerce for helping to co-produce the event along with the Mayor’s Office of Economic Development.

Congratulations to all 2013 Mayor’s Small Business Award Nominees and Winners.