Governor Names 45 to Boards, Commissions

article top

Gov. Linda Lingle released the names of 45 new appointees for various state boards and commissions to fill vacant positions or to replace current members whose terms are expiring.

The Office of the Governor oversees more than 135 boards and commissions that are established by the state constitution, state statutes or executive orders.


Since taking office in December, Governor Lingle has actively encouraged residents around the state to apply to serve on a board or commission.

The applicants were screened and interviewed by the administration, including the Governor who personally interviewed some candidates for key positions.

Here are some of the appointed yesterday:

”Hawaii Commission for National and Community Service:” Robert I. Crowell, Dennis M. Dunn, MaBel Ferreiro-Fujiuchi, Stacy S.K. Higa, Scott S. Morishige, Lee A. Rombaoa, Ralph Stueber

”Hawaii School-To-Work Executive Council:” Nobleza E. Magsanoc, Albert S. Nishimura, Kevin Yoshino

”Hawaii Teacher Standards Board:” Annette Masutani, Vicki L. Morrison, Vaughn Tokashiki

”State Foundation on Culture and the Arts:” Gae Bergquist-Trommald

”King Kamehameha Celebration Commission:” William D. Souza

”Island of Hawai`i Island Burial Council:” Gail U. Keli`ikoa-Sherlock

”State Council on Developmental Disabilities:” Donna P. Bishaw, Elvira Lee

”Disability and Communication Access Board:” Anthony S. Akamine, Roland Awa, Richard R. Chaves, Sharon Fountain, Francine M. Kenyon, Lucy Miller, PhD, Patricia Nielsen

”Statewide Independent Living Council:” Diana C. Tizard

”State Board of Chiropractic Examiners:” Craig R. Benzel

”Board of Dental Examiners:” Jeffrey K. Miyazawa

”Board of Massage Therapy:” Wilfred S. Pang

”State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology:” Kau`i Alapa, Cristobol J. Quintana

”Environmental Council:” Shad S. Kane

”Kaneohe Bay Regional Council:” David A. Krupp, PhD, Robin Gay Makapagal

”Molokai Irrigation System Water Users Advisory Board:” George W. Maioho

”Agribusiness Development Corporation Board of Directors:” Eric D. Weinert

”Small Business Regulatory Review Board:” Denise Walker

”Real Estate Commission:” Marshall D. Chinen

”Rental Housing Trust Fund Advisory Council:” Becky L. Hayashida

”Civil Defense Advisory Council:” Captain Gerald L. Coffee, U.S. Navy (ret.)

”Crime Victim Compensation Commission:” Garry Smith

”Board of Registration, Maui, Molokai, Lanai and Kaho’olawe:” Steve Pfister

”Board of Trustees of the Deferred Compensation Plan:” Ryan S. Ushijima

”Board of Directors of the Hawaii Hurricane Relief Fund:” Thomas Singlehurst

”State Boxing Commission of Hawaii:” Willes Lee

”’For a complete list of boards and commissions or to apply to serve, visit the governor’s Web site at:”’